Sept. 12, 2012: California

Mise en place (French):  everything in place, everything set up.

Having escaped custody by eternal Philistines, I am entitling this first blog entry “Muse On the Lamb.” The alternate title of my whole blog could be : “Tales of A Female Globe Trotter.”

I am camping alone at night in the woods here in Ojai, California, USA. It’s one of my home-bases. The birds are starting to come closer at dusk; the wood rats are jumping around my head all during the night.

My trip to Haiti is in the works:

1.)     On Oct. 16, I fly to Miami. I have two couches in Miami so far (through Couchsurfing.org). I also have a couch in Naples, Florida; plus, I have a brother, sister-in-law, and nephew (and his family) in Naples.

2.)     On Nov. 3, I fly to Port-au-Prince, Haiti. I am renting an apartment there for the month of November.

3.)     On Dec. 1 (or thereabouts), I will take a bus from Port-au-Prince to Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic. I have two couches so far in the DR.

4.)     On Dec. 15, I fly to San Juan, Puerto Rico. I am looking for couches there; I have one so far.

After that, it’s all wide open! I don’t know how long I will want to stay in Puerto Rico or where I’ll go from there. I want to go on to Jamaica. From Jamaica, I may go south, into South America. We’ll see.

Then, when I return to the U.S., I want to go to New Orleans and then up the East Coast, through Kentucky and into New England. I will be going to Europe from there. No timeline exists.

Thanks for reading my first post on my first blog.

Fling yourself around!

Leave a Reply

