Jan. 15, 2013

Antoinette and I had scones and drinks (hot choc for her, espresso for me) at Rituals in downtown Port of Spain this morning before saying a fond farewell to each other. She’s a wonderful gal! And probably an Aspie, like me, as she agrees. I’m so much more comfortable, especially in public, with other Nerds.

She and I talked about Other, “Outside” Women vs. Married, Faithful Women. She said there’s a stigma against Outside women, but it’s unspoken.

As we rode the maxi-bus out of Arima, I saw lots of wooden signs that said, “Outside Woman Fete. Club Aquarios. Jan. 19. Prophet Benjamin (or Cassie and a phone number).” Antoinette told me this is a party where men proudly bring their Outside (“other”) women. She didn’t know much about Outside Women, but she said some married women must have Outside Men, too. I told her about Brown, my birth father.

Leave a Reply

