March 4, 2013

March 1

Went to dentist here in Mexico City (Bronson set it up for me and came with me). Then, out for late breakfast. Then, to Pulqueria where we drank Pulque (relaxing cactus drink). Then, shopped for mescal and dinner and beer.

Happily listening to jazz and just relaxing here in Colonia Condesa, a  cool, laid-back part of Mexico City. The upwardly mobile live here. It’s like Ojai. Grocery shopping is a competitive sport.

Getting here yesterday with Ireyca, I almost had a panic attack in the Metro station. A crowd was carrying us up a staircase; I felt dizzy. Thought I might just fall down. I applied mind-control: first, I thought, “Everyone here is my friend; everyone loves me.” Then, I pictured everyone naked. Third, I imagined we were all walking into a gas chamber together. Yeah, I know. Weird. But it worked.

_________________________________________________________

March 2

Here’s part of a message sent (March online newsletter) to all GRASP members by Michael John Carley, former director of GRASP:

“I’m known most as an individual with Asperger’s Syndrome. But I first entered the autism/AS world as a parent, when my then-four year-old was diagnosed with AS (as many of you know, I got diagnosed exactly one week later). So much of my drive in starting GRASP was to create a more pluralistic world for him, as well as others, because a) his initial prognosis wasn’t great, and b) anything on the spectrum was regarded as almost completely lacking in potential back then.

“Without using my kid’s progress as a sacrificial lamb for my career . . . he’s the proof I’ve always seen of our success, as the world’s attitudes around him changed, and gave him a chance to become the confident individual he’s becoming. His difference from spectrumites of decades past is reflected in a comparable lack of anxiety, anger, and depression. And our world has not raised him with the interpretive mistakes that prior generations couldn’t escape from.

_____________________________________________________________

My travel (i.e., living) plans have been changing fast lately. First, I have to return to California to meet with Social Security this month. That changes my plan to go right to New Orleans from Mexico.

Bronson and Ahmed are getting married in November. I may come back down here for the wedding and also to go to the dentist I visited yesterday. Reasonable prices.

I don’t know what I will be doing after California. I will visit Northern California to see Anya in April. I may go to Joanna Salska’s gallery show in Oakland. (She’s a Polish-born artist living in Berkeley. I have stayed in her/husband George’s tree house. They are Couchsurfing hosts.)

I like having my plans wide open. My March money is already down to $500 (with $100 in Gulf Bank for savings). I still need/want a tent (which will be at least $100). And yoga lessons from Suza. And… food. Where shall I bathe if I don’t rejoin the Bryant St. Gym? In the creeks.

__________________________________________________________________

March 3

Sex is emotionally bonding. Once, no, I don’t (the et bonded to the person. More than once, yes, I start getting emotionally tied to them. That’s when I get possessive and jealous. And, if that person has sex with someone else (and if they also start to ignore me sexually), I get furious! I don’t like this aspect of sex; or perhaps I don’t like this aspect of emotions. Sex is fun and feels good physically. Why do emotions have to be involved? And why am I so sensitive emotionally? Why can’t I control my emotions better?

There is no “why” in nature. Or, if there is, we (most of us humans) don’t know what it is. We never know why things happen in nature.

Waking life is like sitting at a big dinner table with a constantly rotating and reappearing group of fellow-diners. Sleeping life (the life behind one’s eyes) is Real Life, the life of the individual. The individual soul lives on, I believe; that’s why I call this Real Life.

____________________________________________________________

(From uk.answers.yahoo.com)

Question: Why does the Dalai Lama eat meat?
In Tibet the environment is not conducive for sustaining crops as the earth is of a poor quality, therefore the Tibetans have to survive on a diet consisting of meat.
As the Buddha taught, vegetarianism is an ideal which is commendable, yet one must follow the dharma practically, so if one has to supplement their diet with meat on health grounds, then eating meat is unfortunately a necessity for healthy living and mental well-being.
I doubt any Buddhists who eat meat are comfortable about the death of the animal they have partially consumed, yet if we can become compassionate and active for the welfare of animals rights especially wild endangered animals, then we can a least balance out our Karma.
I became a vegetarian for six months but had to start eating meat again when I suffered weight loss and dizzy spells. I could not concentrate clearly which effected my meditation sessions, so I decided to eat meat due to health reasons, although I am uncomfortable about the idea of eating an animal.

___________________________________________________________________

(answer to same question as above: from mysticbanana.com)

The Dalai Lama has very small amounts of meat because he became severely ill living on a purely vegetarian diet. When asked “Aren’t Buddhists supposed to be vegetarians”, he responded “The good ones are!”

Buddhism does not adhere to any single law. Thank goodness the Dalai Lama understands that there is a difference between survival and championing a cause.

The Buddhists I know give their children the things they need to survive regardless of whether or not “God” said not to. If it wasn’t for the Dalai Lama being both spiritual and realistic, Buddhism would be an Abrahamic religion.

_____________________________________________________________________

March 4

I posted this on FB today:

I met so many truly divine, inspiring, now-beloved people on this trip. Today, I will savor my last day in Mexico City. The DF (Mexico City: the Distrito Federal or capital of Mexico) is the largest city in the Western Hemisphere (21 million people). Its boroughs, like Colonia Condesa, the lovely, up-scale part of the city where I’m staying now, are easy to navigate, relaxed and delightful. During rush hours, the Metro has some cars just for women (I tried one, and it was peaceful [though I heard mothers with small kids sometimes aggressively use their elbows to push others out of the way!]). Some CS friends visited “Garbage City” recently, a slum where folks live off the trash. This city has it all. Wikipedia calls it “an alpha ‘global city'”. It’s fun, challenging, and amazing, all at the same time!

_____________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

