May 4, 2013

May 4

I’ve also been editing and improving my Couchsurfing and BeWelcome (travel clubs) profiles. They’re pretty good now. Here’s what they look like (both are pretty much the same though CS has more info):

_______________________________________________________________________________

Mission:

hedonism and self-interest! Adventure, beauty, magic, and mysticism!

Personal Description

Global nomad/American Traveller-Gypsy. I camp out for several months every year, and I travel the rest of the time.

Mother and grandmother. Raised kids–very creatively and unconventionally–for 37 years.

I am intensely and joyfully spiritual (Nature is “God”), but I dislike organized religion.

I smoke pot (nervous system benefits for autism). I only smoke on-the-road when hosts offer me the ganja (I never travel with pot; DUH).

I love wine, beer, pina coladas, whiskey sours, etc.!

I exercise: walking/hiking, swimming, yoga, biking, and the gym. And I enjoy delicious, healthful food.

I am a Nerd/Geek, i.e., I’m a person with Autism: specifically, Asperger Syndrome. In general, Aspies run the IT industry (Bill Gates is an Aspie: person with Aspergers).

I am very experimental and creative: I have worked for the California police, tried wild activities CS won’t let me post, and lots of other unfashionable, “uncool” stuff. Why? Because I am curious and mostly unafraid. I am a social taboo-buster. I want to find out the truth for myself. And I like to try new things and HAVE FUN!

“Comfort the disturbed; disturb the comfortable.” Always. No shame. No guilt.

Adopted by immigrant Dad and 1st-generation American mom. Raised in the US. Trips to Europe as a child. Found my birth-family (a long process) after age 35.

Currently camping out for a few months in SoCal chaparral forest.

Just finished 5 months (Oct. 2012–March 2013) on the road: Haiti, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela, Colombia, Panama, and Mexico.

Hitchhiked 7,000 miles around the US in 2008 (I was 62). I often hitch, but I prefer shorter trips in small towns (not out on the highways).

I travel with a tent and sleeping bag.
_____________________________________________________

NOTE (not for most of you!): if you’re ageist–if you discriminate based on age–it’s just as bad as racism, homophobia, sexism, etc. So, chill out!

How I Participate in CS

I am not a cliche: NOT the sweet, grandmotherly type. I don’t cook.

At your house, I will buy and prepare my own food and eat whenever I’m hungry. Not into sit-down-at-the-table, shared, family-type meals.

I share myself and my stories with hosts and fellow-travellers. I take whatever hosts want to offer me. I consider this an EQUAL EXCHANGE. We are BOTH (surfers and hosts) helping each other out.

I know that we surfers are bringing a unique opportunity to hosts: the chance to connect with the world of travel and a chance to get to know the world of us Traveller-Gypsies.

Tourists have lives to return to (jobs, school, homes, cars, etc.). For tourists, travel is a vacation, it’s fun and it’s easy. This is very different from Travellers. Tourists are a different breed entirely, and you host them at your own risk!

I really look forward to meeting YOU! So if you REALLY WANT TO HOST ME, let’s boogie!

Couchsurfing Experience

Surfed all over the U.S., Mexico, Canada (B.C., NW Territory), Central America, Haiti, the Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela, Colombia, Panama.

Interests

Music. Travel. Nature (camping). Movies.

Philosophy

I didn’t say half the shit they say I did. (Albert Einstein)

The best life is one filled with pleasure and governed by self-interest. (Epicurus, in Daniel Klein’s TRAVELS WITH EPICURUS)

“I am not here to live up to your expectations, and you are not here to live up to mine.” ~Fritz Perls

Music, Movies, Books

Movies (tier 1): Avatar. The Addams Family/Addams Family Values. Harry Potter. Chocolat.

British cable TV: The IT Crowd; Jeeves and Wooster (with Hugh Laurie and Stephen Fry); Sherlock Holmes (2013).

Movies (tier 2): Snatch (with Brad Pitt). Agnes Brown (with Angelica Huston). The Muse (with Sharon Stone). Harold and Maud. The Birdcage. The Pink Panther (Peter Sellers). 50 First Dates (Drew Barrymore). Temple Grandin (HBO movie, 2010, with Claire Danes). Nanny McPhee.
____________________________________________________

Music: World Beat. Gypsy music. All New Orleans’ music. Cajun and Zydeco–YES! Classical. Some blue grass, rock, and country music. Cesaria Evora (Cape Verde Islands: morna blues). Shakira. Reggae. Big on Latin. Gogol Bordello. Manu Chao. Blondie’s “Girlie Girlie” and “Mirame.” Bachata!

Music from movies: Dirty Dancing.
__________________________________________________

Books: Women Who Run With the Wolves (Clarissa Pinkola-Estes). Dervla Murphy’s travel writing. Quiet (Susan Caine). Of Wolves and Men (and all books by Barry Lopez). Chelsea Handler (all her books). Temple Grandin’s books.

Types of People I enjoy

I adore creative people who love to laugh, play, be silly, have fun, drink wine (or beer), perhaps smoke pot, hang out in cafes, disturb the status quo, dance, and lie around being lazy.

I do not enjoy religious people who mention Jesus (or any gods/God or gurus) in their profiles.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you can teach me some jokes, I’d like that.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Seen or Done

A rattlesnake “combat-dance.”

A mountain lion on the trail.

Frequent black/brown bear encounters.

The Northern Lights in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada. A herd of bison on the highway.

Opinion on the Couchsurfing.org Project

I love so many of the people I have met through Couchsurfing! Some remain life-long pals. It’s just an amazing site! It has changed my life in the most divine way.

I joined BeWelcome.org in March 2013, and from now on I’ll be using both sites.

Locations Traveled

TRAVELED: Austria, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, France, Germany, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Puerto Rico, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, United States, Venezuela
LIVED: United States
WANTS TO GO: India, Japan, Spain
IS GOING TO: England, Ireland (Republic of), Scotland

Leave a Reply

